A Woman of Substance

I am currently reading the novel, A Woman of Substance by Barbara Taylor Bradford.  This is a novel that depicts a woman who was then a young kitchen maid and who muddled through a lot of sweats to become a woman of substance – a rich and powerful one.

woman-of-substance

As a woman myself, I really have high regards for personalities like the main character named Emma. In my generation (Generation X), you barely meet a woman like Emma who becomes sophisticated and dauntless from a merely poor teenage servant.

A Woman of Substance.  Does anybody exist like her in this era? Or do you know anybody like her?

Nowadays you get to know a lot of insensitive women who doesn’t care in any way about you and the environment.  Let’s say you are her colleague, but you don’t belong to her team and don’t have interaction at all as regards your tasks then this is all right. For sure, this is not the type of a girl who loves to gossip and say nasty things behind your back. But sometimes a girl friend of yours whom you trust and get along with for a long period of time will betray you. And oh, it will amount to malign you in public! From the wall of her Facebook account, she is chattering strangely.  She is busy miscalculating your real thoughts. She thought that you are annoyed or outraged with her behavior, just because she knows herself too well.  This happens this day and age especially that social media is now a part of our daily lives.

Anyway, you only have the power to control yourself and you do not have the right to complain about other’s behavior. My daughter often tells me that I am a racist. During our light moments, I say things that I do not really mean but I do have a rationalization each time, why I am stating such. At the end of the day, you cannot change anything in a person, you can only criticize. I am a woman of humanity. Will you believe?

Why is my subject pouring out like this?  Indeed, I have not met a woman of substance.  So I suggest that you read the book. It will intensify your way of thinking. And will balance your philosophies, wisdom, and impressions.

There is a sequel of the novel – Emma’s Secret.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

